Thoughts on the Arizona Students Association

ASU (and I’m sure UA and NAU) students received an e-mail from student leaders today revealing that former ASA Executive Director Maceo Brown has allegedly embezzeled over $200,000 for personal use over the past four years.

I am outraged beyond belief.

This means that he was stealing (if proven guilty) while I served in student government, and this makes me furious. I stood up for ASA when it was constantly being called into question for how it handled funds, and how effective of an organization it was in lobbying the legislature on behalf of students. But now this has been revealed, and I am absolutely sick about it. Maceo and I didn’t know each other exceptionally well (our interactions were always amicable, and he was even encouraging when I didn’t move on in the student regent selection process) I did know him, and I do feel betrayed. 209,000 former and current students should as well.

This is highly ironic, as just today, I gave a presentation to the Maricopa Workforce Connections Board, where Brown was recently hired as a board liaison. He was absent from the meeting, citing that he’d been rear-ended in traffic. I don’t think this new position requires the handling of money, but regardless, if this incident hasn’t been brought to the attention of the MWC Board, it really needs to be.

I don’t want to incriminate Maceo even further, because I know this will be a huge hit to him and his family, but I will NOT tolerate theivery of public or student funds. In my opinion, ASA will have to completely reinvent itself in order to be trusted and taken seriously again. I know that if he is proven guilty, it is his fault, and not that of ASA board members or ASA staff. Regardless of this, the discovery that has been made is huge, and it will be a challenge for ASA to overcome.

I never encouraged any students to get their dollar back from ASA (it’s collected through student fees, and yes, you can actually request to get the dollar back) but I imagine that it will happen more and more often.

Maceo – if you’re guilty of this, please do the right thing…

11 Responses to “Thoughts on the Arizona Students Association”

  1. I saw this! Actually, here at NAU we didn’t receive an email but I did see some of it on the news. If it’s true, it’s terrible and he deserves some type of action being taken against him. If you find out more, let me know.

  2. WOW!! That is unbelievable. So what sanctions is the University going to seek? I am assuming, and hoping, criminal and civil penalties. I am hurt too from this, as I was a student at the University during that time. This is unbelievable and everyone should be outraged beyond relief. This is truly an atrocity. Keep us apprised as to what transpires.

  3. John, it was brought to my understanding that the University has filed suit against Brown in Superior Court ONLY SEEKING CIVIL LIABILITIES to pay back the $209,000.00 embezzled, plus attorney’s fees and court costs deemed appropriate. Is this true? Will the University pursue any criminal action?

    –ST

  4. Mr. Ronquillo – I share in your dismay of the occurence. It is quite unfortunate that this had to pass. But, with your knowledge of student affairs in AZ, as well as that of the legislature, and, if I’m not mistaken – you have met most of the regents and university presidents – I think you would be a stellar candidate to take over the reins at ASA. If the opportunity to apply comes in the near future, I would hope that you would apply and in turn be hired to lead ASA in the right direction…you have my vote of confidence.

  5. Anonymous – I thank you for your compliments and vote of confidence. The suggestion kind of comes as a shock to me, as I am not seeking the position. However, your words are kind and I appreciate the support. If you have other means of contacting me, please do. Thanks…

  6. As to many this is a big shock. All I can say if these allegations are true no one has the right to judge him. People make mistakes. No one is without error. So don’t sit back and write negative things about him or say what should be done to him. Let’s just see what the facts say.

  7. To the 2nd anonymous poster: If these allegations are right, then EVERYONE has the right to judge him. If he is guilty, then this deserves not only civil punitive action, but criminal as well. How can you say to sit back and see what the facts say? This has been under wraps for months – only last week did it hit the news.

    The author of this blog has been one of the best student representatives ASU has ever had in my opinion. He’s never been the one at the top of the heap, but he’s taken supportive roles and an active voice on behalf of students, which is more than Maceo ever did. I can honestly say that I don’t think he’s being malicious toward Maceo, but he is concerned about his fellow students.

    In fact, John (this blog’s owner) has always had good things to say about Maceo, even though he doesn’t know him that well. Frankly, I’ve had more interaction with Maceo than John has. But it goes to show you that John is the bigger person for not launching an even bigger attack. He is someone who, when he talks, people listen. Please don’t lambaste John for being concerned about Arizona’s students.

    But ask yourself if you would feel the same way if someone took over $200,000 dollars from you…how would you feel??

  8. No email to students here at UA as far as I know, but the paper’s had it for the past two days.

  9. To Eric B. (and John too) I AGREE with your comments. I was a student at ASU when parts of this activity occurred and I am outraged myself as this embezzlement came from STUDENT TUITION!! HOW DO YOU THINK ASA IS FUNDED?!? In any event, John is one of my best friends and will support you, regardless if you are in the right or wrong. He will at least have the courtesy and respect of listening to you. And I commend John for his expertise and support because although it is not disputed that he didn’t know Mr. Brown well, John maintined his professional, courteous and friendly demeanor in doing what is paramount: SUPPORTING AND DEFENDING THE OVERALL GOOD OF THE STUDENTS AND THE UNIVERSITY. John in no way tongue-lashed Mr. Brown personally in a judgmental manner but encouraged Mr. Brown to do the right thing IF he was guilty of this atrocity.

    John in every right and formation was outraged and even DEFENDED the questionable accounting of the ASA in belief of what he knew. SO SHOULD WE ALL!! If you paid tuition, you should be as well!! But Eric B. as one of John’s best friends of many years, and years to come, I could not agree with you more. John expressed his valid opinion and disgust in every right, and will continue to defend his beliefs and profess them for the overall benefit of students and the University. –ST

  10. John is a good guy with concern…that’s all. I’m sure that if this Brown guy is found not guilty, he would retract everything he said in a second…

  11. If it ends up being true (and all signs point that way), it’s absolutely despicable. I’m no expert on ASA, but I do think there’s enough grounding for criminal charges here.

Leave a comment