Total Eclipse of the Heart

Yeah, so I was driving to work this morning and this song came on, and I couldn’t help but to belt it out right along with Bonnie Tyler. Geez, where did she go?

I let my Structure 1 parking pass lapse. This may be the first time many of you have heard that I had a Structure 1 pass, and being that most people wanted to murder me when they heard I had the said pass, I found that it was not a good topic of conversation. But sue me – I can’t help if it was a perk of student government. Leave it to skyrocketing parking prices for me to finally give it up. Now some underappreciated employee who’s been on a waiting list for seven years can have it. Fair? Absolutely not. For those of you unfamiliar with ASU, first, shame on you, because it’s only one of the best universities ever erected (in the author’s opinion, of course), and second, Structure 1 is one of the most coveted and difficult parking structures to get into. I started paying $140 for it back in 2003, and now it’s well over $500 for the next school year. I’m not sad to see it go.

I’ve already checked the parking rates at Georgia, Kansas and Delaware, and they’re much lower, but also, they have good mass transit establishments nearby that may just make me forsake a vehicle in my next educational venture altogether. Then again, Athens, Lawrence and Newark are all a lot smaller than Tempe and the Phoenix-metro area, so it makes sense anyway.

Current feeling: nonplussed.

7 Responses to “Total Eclipse of the Heart”

  1. I remember the coveted parking structure 1! Yeah… needless to say, I didn’t have a parking permit for it.

  2. come on, the flash is awesome! ha ha!! hey, i hope you’re feeling better! i don’t know how you and holli put up with all that sickness. i guess you can’t really do anything else but deal with it, but i’d be out of my mind. yea for you for being able to hang in there and finish the semester!

  3. All I can say is that I’m SO looking forward to getting away from ASU. Georgia, Delaware, Kansas…whichever! And p.s. I’ve never used the word nonplussed, but it’s a good one. Extra points for you!

  4. Well, you know I’m pulling for Georgia, but I’d be fine with Delaware and Kansas all the same. Maybe Delaware more so, since I’m deathly afraid of tornadoes.

  5. dude john they so have tornadoes in DE. big ones. i had a (very) close encounter there once. we locked ourselves inside and played canasta.

    but there are not so many tornadoes in delaware as there are in KS. so it’s alright. tornadoes are pretty cool anyways. green sky. wind. etc. i like weather.

  6. Jay – this is not good. Not good at all. I have no idea how to play canasta…maybe we’ll have to do Settlers of Catan instead.

  7. i have no idea how to play canasta either. i totally forgot. that was more than ten years ago.

    bwijrf!

Leave a comment